2016-2017, week 5, 25th Octorber

As the term is coming ever closer to an end, the pressure to get work finalized is increasing. This weekend I had hoped to start filming Paul. Some friends from the studio agreed to help with filming and audio and I found a spot in Cemetery Junction to film, but the two pupils I had hoped to play the characters, were A) too nervous about acting and did not feel equipped for it, and B) felt they did not have enough time to rehearse and prepare for the roles.

This week however, I have recruited some students from the Drama society to assist me. They seem more confident with the roles (and their performances) and understand the scripts on both an artistic/metaphorical level and from an entertaining theatrical level.

I hope to start filming next weekend and produce my first film paul. I hope to seen also book the AV room to produce another film black-swans, which will be shown on three separate screens for the three separate characters (But could be turned into a open performance too).

I feel because of the limited number of actors I have at my disposal, that I have to take on one of the roles myself, because I have a clear idea of what I want the characters to sound like.

I have also considered from last week of transforming my the-writer%27s-story-version-9 into an installation. I have recorded myself speaking, combined my speed painting videos, and have thought of creating an office space with a screen and speakers playing the story on a loop and adding items to the installation to give it context, and use object to create the story (which Palmer’s Artist talk last week and Beckett’s “Breath” inspired). However my tutor thought this was the least appealing plan and said I should try and focus on the filming of the other scripts.

 

Leave a comment